Ian McNabb
Ian McNabb [aka Batman]



Bass - Roy Corkill
Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals, Mellotron, Keyboards - Geoff Dugmore
Vocals, Backing Vocals, Guitar - Ian McNabb 


Former Icicle Works leader's sixth solo offering on new label, Sanctuary. 
This self-titled 14 track release is his first studio album since 1998's 'A Party Political Broadcast On Behalf Of The Emotional Party'.

For obvious reasons, any Liverpudlian with a guitar and a recording contract is going to have an awful lot to live up to. Fortunately, Ian McNabb's eponymous album, his first electric outing in five years, shows him up to the task. Record sales may have been disproportionately low in relation to his manifold songwriting talents--the former Icicle Works frontman was a Mercury Music Prize nominee (for Head like a Rock, his 1994 ragged country-rock album with Crazy Horse)--but on the strength of Ian McNabb--Def Leppard will know who to turn to if they ever get stuck for tunes. Yes, Ian McNabb has very nearly made a heavy metal album. Thus "Livin' Proof", "Friend of My Enemy" and the knowingly corny (he can be such a wag) "Whatever It Takes" all sport monster-of-rock power riffs, phallic guitar solos and radio-friendly melodies as mentally adhesive as a strip of Elastoplast across the forehead. On the flip-side, McNabb's recently favoured role as the plaintive troubadour pays further dividends on the lonesome, Neil Young-styled "Hotel Stationary" and "Hollywood Tears", a broadside at socially conscious celebrity insincerity performed as a duet with Cousteau vocalist Liam McKahey. Throw in some perky, obligatory Merseypop gems ("Liverpool Girl", "Moment in the Sun") and it's another rather good Ian McNabb record. -- Kevin Maidment

"Recorded mainly on Pete Townshend’s barge on the Thames. To my knowledge the only album I’ve made on water. An attempt at a powerpop/rock album after me being sequestered in the acoustic mode for a few years. Nicknamed Batman due to the cover. Treated with suspicion by critics and fans alike who found many of the songs to be superficial and lightweight. A personal favourite.” IMc 

[UK CD] Sanctuary Records SANCD 011
[UK CD Re-Issue] Castle Music CMRCD 440

Track Title Composer Time Notes
1 Livin' Proof (Miracles Can Happen) R.I. McNabb 4:21
2 Whatever It Takes R.I. McNabb 3:23
3 What You Wanted R.I. McNabb 4:14
4 Liverpool Girl R.I. McNabb 4:07
5 (If We Believe) What Love Can Do R.I. McNabb 4:29
6 Alright With Me R.I. McNabb 4:42
7 Hollywood Tears R.I. McNabb 4:13 Vocals - Liam McKahey
8 Open Air R.I. McNabb 3:37 Guitar - Roy Corkill
9 Nothin' Less Than The Very Best R.I. McNabb 4:57 Bass - Ian McNabb
10 Hotel Stationary R.I. McNabb 4:38
11 Rockin' For Jesus R.I. McNabb 4:02
12 Friend Of My Enemy R.I. McNabb 4:57
13 Moment In The Sun R.I. McNabb 4:05
14 (I Wish I Was In) California R.I. McNabb 3:49


 - Ian McNabb

Sticker in the cover: First electric album in 5 years from Mercury Prize-nominated ex-Icicle Works frontman. 

Make a Free Website with Yola.